Impasse of ignorance ⇒ Kirno Sohochari


My good old college-life friend and batch mate is addicted on fishing. He is a college teacher now, living in the village house and used to lecturing in class and fish hooking on the river at holiday. He is popular to his fellow students for his bit exotic class-lecture, where he always tried them to provoke that the aim of life is equal to the aim of a fish hooker.

A fish hooker is always being steady to his knowledge of hooked a fish in the trap. Life’s objective is not dissimilar then. The objective should be like this. You have to carry the knowledge that you’re not an ignorant about the objective and baiting your hook to trap the ignorance by certainty, as like the fish hooker catches fish by baiting carps in his fishhook.

impasse-of-ignorance-on-fish-hooking_7_2

One day he was fishing on the riverside of his village and I was beside him. The upper side of the fishhook was slightly trembling to guess the possibility of trapped fish under the water. My friend’s face was flickering by excitement for the trapped fish; maybe it is large on size. He was slowly wheeling the fishhook to uplift the giant trapped fish into the hook.

I was watching all this to sit beside him. He was sweating a lot on that moment of wheeling the hook. It meant that probably a something big would wait for him. My friend was thrilled over joy and soon his face goes to dark when the fishhook lifted on the water with the muddy hyacinth and the rotten trunk of a tree.


You’re definitive on your cognition, rather to definitive that ignorance is necessary to rectify the knowledge you gain from the reality. The more you know about anything, the possibility of ignorance to the anything will increase on the parallel.


I laughed to see this. My good old friend shrugs his shoulder for the little moment by muttering in rage, “What a joke. I’m certain about that it is giant but not certainly think that it could be rotten trunk. My long experience in fish hooking is not helping me to the moment. What a shame man!”

I put my hand to his shoulder to consulate him, “Dear friend, there’s lot of things under the water and lot of events happening there. You cannot guess all this by your intuition and knowledge. You know many things about the river and the things it hides behind the deep watery cave. I know you’re an expert fish hooker and perhaps know the every certain action under the water in detail, but in spite of this it’s also true that there are many things happen sans the certainty. You could guess but not to be sure about that.”

impasse-of-ignorance-on-fish-hooking_1_2My friend shrugs again his shoulder, “Look I have a long experience of fish hooking and know the slightest detail of my baiting hook. Knowledge is power and as a fish-hooker, I have the capacity of guessing what’s happened in the hook when it stroked by the fish or anything. This is the first time I dodged by the bloody hook due to my over confidence and nothing else.”

I realized the feeling of my long day’s fish hooking expert on the moment and slow down my voice to him, “Be cool my friend. I know you will not dodge by the tomorrow but today is not your day. Your long experience and knowledge on the river and the fish hooking is not working today, it does not mean that it will not work on tomorrow, but first you need to agree on that our knowledge relates with our ignorance as well.


Certainly uncertain to the knowledge makes we perfect for the knowledge.


You’re definitive on your cognition, rather to definitive that ignorance is necessary to rectify the knowledge you gain from the reality. The more you know about anything, the possibility of ignorance to the anything will increase on the parallel.

The science of knowledge is also the science of ignorance. Knowledge is not the certainty of anything; it’s an assumption of ideas and thoughts, and maybe the mathematical assumption of some certainty against the ignorance; however, you have not considered the mathematics final. Ignorance ruled over the world, not the knowledge you achieved by this.

impasse-of-ignorance-on-fish-hooking_8You’re not dodged by your knowledge and experience of fish hooking, you dodged due to the over certainty that upper side trembling of the hook reflects the pre-experience you achieved in fish hooking, but nothing could bring the confirmation that knowledge of pre-experience always return the same.

We’re all atomic and atomic events could react beyond over your knowledge. Certainly uncertain to the knowledge makes us perfect for the knowledge. My friend, maybe we’re always ignorant to the acts that we consider certain.”

My good old friend was shaking his head to the reply, “You’re a born rebuttal. I know you very well. The only aim of your life is to confuse everything by the tricky words. I studied in science and teaching my students to be scientific in their aim of life. Science was born to enlighten us. Scientific knowledge was begins its journey to demolish the dark edges of ignorance.


I know the modern scientific assumptions are the barometer of nowadays everything we used to be think “ignorance”.


Science taught me to confident on the pragmatic belief that we human are born to rule over the ignorance by the logic that, everything is unknown and covered by mist if you think like that.

The underwater events are not a mystery today because science can explain it. Yes I agree with you, we could do a lot to knowing better of it, but it doesn’t mean that the certain experience I gained from the scientific hook could betray me over the night.


True objective of modern science should not focus on the lens that they’re the agent of ignorance cleansing.


Even the atomic function is certain in limit due to the uncertainty and we achieved the knowledge through science, so, why I deny this overnight? Yes, you could do this, because you always jammed your head by the tricky philosophical rubbish, which you like to quote everywhere. Now, please let the end of this discussion. I’m not in mood to knife my scientific belief by chatting you on this agenda.”

impasse-of-ignorance-on-fish-hooking_4_2We’re talking by the riverside on that day and I was amused to see the reaction of my science-lover pragmatic friend. Her is not different to the other who believes only science could tell the reality as it and destroy the ignorance about it. I know the modern scientific assumptions are the barometer of nowadays everything we used to be think “ignorance”.

It maybe was true at remote dawn of human civilization when scientific advancement treated as the enlightened rays on ignorance and be the ignorant. Time is passing over, but the definition of “knowledge and ignorance” in our mind still be the same like the past! My friend as while echoing the past over certainty that his magical hook is experienced to catch the fish, because it’s scientifically certain on the game of trapping and catching.

Albeit, he forgets the modern definition that knowledge is not born nowadays to enlightened or ruling over the ignorance by some pragmatic theory or invention, it’s now born to investigate the curiosity that why ignorance and anarchy increased on the parallel of knowledge. True objective of modern science should not focus on the lens that they’re the agent of ignorance cleansing.

The more we know the probability of ignorance is increase to the knowing and it’s not negative, because knowledge is not rigid; the springtime of new ideas are now greatly depended on the new definition of ignorance, and the scientists are incapable to make the definition. The poet could make it at future or maybe the talkative philosophers, albeit many scientists are supercilious about them.

Anyway, I got a bitter experience on that day to see my friend’s over-confidence to his scientific fishing. He is hookahs on the riverside to think that the giant fish of ignorance will soon trapped and caught in his tricky bait. I left him on the riverside on the moment to see that he is now again bait his hook by certainty to catch the certain fish in the deep water.

impasse-of-ignorance-on-fish-hooking_3_2

